Monday, July 14, 2014


Small E-Airplanes Take Flight but No Commercial Passenger Planes in the Near Future   http://www.21stcentech.com/electric-airplanes-flight/

The End of Retirement  http://harpers.org/archive/2014/08/the-end-of-retirement/

Roger Schell on long-term computer security research  http://intelligence.org/2014/06/23/roger-schell/

Samsung Suspends Ties With Chinese Supplier Over Child Labor   http://www.inc.com/associated-press/samsung-suspends-china-supplier-over-child-labor.html?cid=sf01001

Students Create a Bio Printer To Test Drugs on Your Own 3D Printed Human Cells Rather than Animals  http://3dprintingindustry.com/2014/07/15/3d-bio-printer-test-drugs/?utm_source=twitter&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=3dpi%2Btwitter

Survey Roundup: Cybersecurity Complacency Threatens M&A  http://blogs.wsj.com/riskandcompliance/2014/07/11/survey-roundup-cybersecurity-complacency-threatens-ma-deals/

Greenland Thaw  http://blogs.ei.columbia.edu/tag/greenland-thaw/

Emerging Internet Trends that will Shape the Global Economy  http://live.worldbank.org/emerging-internet-trends-global-economy-vint-cerf?hootPostID=0e16e6da8adef766d4c06f002f0dce5b

To Build a Robot Like Star Trek’s Data We Need to Perfect Soft Machine Technology  http://www.21stcentech.com/build-robot-data-perfect-soft-machine-technology/

The next big thing in wearable tech may be ear computers  http://bit.ly/1nyYu4C

MIT Is Working On T-1000 Style State Shifting Robots With Google’s Robot http://techcrunch.com/2014/07/14/mit-is-working-on-t-1000-style-state-shifting-robots-with-googles-robot-company/Company


To Garden in Space We Need All Kinds of Robots  http://www.21stcentech.com/garden-space-kinds-robots/

IBM's $3 Billion Investment In Synthetic Brains And Quantum Computing  http://www.fastcompany.com/3032872/fast-feed/ibms-3-billion-investment-in-synthetic-brains-and-quantum-computing

Low-Power Color Displays  http://www.technologyreview.com/news/528816/low-power-color-displays/?utm_campaign=socialsync&utm_medium=social-post&utm_source=linkedin

Miami, the great world city, is drowning while the powers that be look away  http://www.theguardian.com/world/2014/jul/11/miami-drowning-climate-change-deniers-sea-levels-rising

THE GUARDIAN: How technology in the home can improve health and social care  http://www.theguardian.com/business/2014/jul/13/technology-home-improve-health-social-care?CMP=twt_gu

Getting a charge out of water droplets   http://newsoffice.mit.edu/2014/getting-charge-out-water-droplets-0714

Qatar spends big on American choppers and missiles  http://www.washingtonpost.com/news/checkpoint/wp/2014/07/14/qatar-spends-big-on-american-choppers-and-missiles

Rupert Murdoch Thinks You're Overreacting About Climate Change  http://www.washingtonpost.com/news/checkpoint/wp/2014/07/14/qatar-spends-big-on-american-choppers-and-missiles

Super Size Me: Now You Can 3D Print a Life-sized Model of Yourself   http://www.inside3dp.com/super-size-now-can-3d-print-life-sized-model/

BUSINESS INSIDER: Google Has A $500 Million War Chest To Stop Amazon's Plan For The 'Showrooming Of Groceries'  http://www.businessinsider.com/google-shopping-express-blocks-amazon-2014-7

Why Is Google Investing Half a Billion Dollars in Shopping Express?  http://www.fool.com/investing/general/2014/07/13/why-is-google-investing-half-a-billion-dollars-in.aspx

BBC:  WTO rules against US in trade spat with China and India  http://www.bbc.com/news/business-28301144

BBC:  Sotheby's and eBay join to offer online auctions  http://www.bbc.com/news/business-28301139

BBC: 100 years of commercial aviation  http://www.bbc.com/news/business-28295039

BBC:  China's high-speed rail revolution  http://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-28299462

BBC:  Inside the latest Boeing Dreamliner  http://www.bbc.com/news/business-28299549

Anti-Missile Defense Systems – Can they work?  http://www.21stcentech.com/anti-missile-defense-systems-work/

IBM Pours $3 Billion Into Future of Nanoelectronics  http://spectrum.ieee.org/nanoclast/semiconductors/nanotechnology/ibm-pours-3-billion-into-future-of-nanoelectronics

Researchers demonstrate novel, tunable nanoantennas   http://phys.org/news/2014-07-tunable-nanoantennas.html

Computer memory that can store about one terabyte of data on a device the size of a postage stamp  http://www.kurzweilai.net/rices-silicon-oxide-memories-catch-manufacturers-eye

Harvard Scientists May Have Just Unlocked the Secret to Staying Young Forever  http://mic.com/articles/88851/harvard-scientists-may-have-just-unlocked-the-secret-to-staying-young-forever

Get Inside Whisper's Secret Economy  http://www.fastcompany.com/3032951/welcome-to-the-secret-economy?partner=newsletter

This Bot Has Written More Wikipedia Articles Than Anybody   http://www.popsci.com/article/science/bot-has-written-more-wikipedia-articles-anybody?src=SOC&dom=fb

REUTERS: Experts report potential software "back doors" in U.S. standards  http://www.reuters.com/article/2014/07/15/us-usa-nsa-software-idUSKBN0FK02V20140715

REUTERS: U.S. web companies press demands for net neutrality with FCC http://www.reuters.com/article/2014/07/14/us-usa-internet-neutrality-idUSKBN0FJ0VP20140714