Thursday, July 17, 2014


Nest’s Tony Fadell on Smart Objects, and the Singularity of Innovation  http://mobile.nytimes.com/blogs/bits/2013/11/07/nests-tony-fadell-on-smart-objects-and-the-singularity-of-innovation/

Controlling the Home, Google Style  http://bits.blogs.nytimes.com/2014/07/15/controlling-the-home-google-style/?_php=true&_type=blogs&_r=0

A Robot With a Little Humanity   http://bits.blogs.nytimes.com/2014/07/16/a-robot-with-a-little-humanity/

Criminal Software, Government-Grade Protection  http://bits.blogs.nytimes.com/2014/07/16/criminal-software-government-grade-protection/

Internet Of Things: What's Holding Us Back  http://www.informationweek.com/strategic-cio/it-strategy/internet-of-things-whats-holding-us-back/d/d-id/1235043

Microsoft Slicing 18,000 Jobs: More Change Ahead  http://www.informationweek.com/strategic-cio/digital-business/microsoft-slicing-18000-jobs-more-change-ahead/d/d-id/1297364?

PayPal fuels higher eBay revenue even as cyber attack, rivals weigh   http://www.reuters.com/article/2014/07/16/us-ebay-results-idUSKBN0FL2L420140716


Humans Already Use Way, Way More Than 10 Percent of Their Brains   http://www.theatlantic.com/technology/archive/2014/07/you-already-use-way-way-more-than-10-percent-of-your-brain/374520/

Flying spies: Surveillance planes after the Cold War   http://www.bbc.com/future/story/20140716-flying-spies-of-the-21st-century

Why science needs imagination and beauty   http://www.bbc.com/future/story/20131127-secret-to-thinking-like-a-genius

Malaysia Airlines Plane Crash: Flight Shot Down Over Ukraine   http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/07/17/malaysia-airlines-plane-cras_n_5595516.html

Here's Google's plan to rid the world of cyberattacks  http://money.cnn.com/2014/07/17/technology/security/google-cyberattacks/index.html?iid=HP_LN

Fiat: We're not talking merger with VW http://money.cnn.com/2014/07/17/news/companies/chrysler-volkswagen/index.html?iid=HP_LN

UK plans to build a spaceport  http://money.cnn.com/video/news/2014/07/15/uk-spaceport-farnborough-airshow.cnnmoney/index.html?iid=SF_T_River

The classic VW Beetle goes electric   http://money.cnn.com/2014/07/17/autos/zelectric-bug-electric-vw-beetle/index.html?iid=HP_LN

Gene Therapy Is Used to Adjust Pigs’ Heartbeat  http://www.nytimes.com/2014/07/17/health/gene-therapy-used-to-create-biological-pacemaker-in-pigs.html?_r=0

Can Tetrahedrite Help Generate Cheap Thermoelectric Energy?   http://www.21stcentech.com/tetrahedrite-generate-cheap-energy/

The Future Air Force Is Cooler Than Science Fiction   http://www.bloomberg.com/video/the-future-air-force-is-cooler-than-science-fiction-myRkbUytQq2XCBpmp7qzpQ.html

How Superstorm Sandy Gave Rise to Wireless Startup  http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2014-07-17/how-superstorm-sandy-gave-rise-to-wireless-startup.html

REUTERS: Malaysian airliner downed in Ukraine war zone, 295 dead http://www.reuters.com/article/2014/07/17/us-ukraine-crisis-airplane-idUSKBN0FM22N20140717

Pakistan and China: A Precarious Friendship?  http://thediplomat.com/2014/07/pakistan-and-china-a-precarious-friendship/

China's Role in the Middle East  http://thediplomat.com/2014/07/chinas-role-in-the-middle-east/

China’s Goals in South America   http://thediplomat.com/2014/07/chinas-goals-in-south-america/

 Hunting American Spooks: Germany Prepares Further Spying Clampdown  http://www.spiegel.de/international/germany/expulsion-of-cia-head-a-sign-of-tougher-german-response-to-spying-a-980912.html

Lunar pits could shelter astronauts, reveal details of how 'man in the moon' formed   http://phys.org/news/2014-07-lunar-pits-astronauts-reveal-moon.html

Tiniest catch: Scientists' fishing expedition reveals viral diversity in the sea   http://phys.org/news/2014-07-tiniest-scientists-fishing-reveals-viral.html

Microsoft Research demos Project Adam machine-learning object-recognition software  http://www.kurzweilai.net/microsoft-research-demos-project-adam-machine-learning-object-recognition-software

The world’s largest domed city  http://www.kurzweilai.net/the-worlds-largest-domed-city

Global Trade Forecast Report - HSBC Global Connections  https://globalconnections.hsbc.com/global/en/tools-data/trade-forecasts/global

Meet Sverker Johansson, The Man Responsible For Writing 10% Of Wikipedia   http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/2014/07/15/sverker-johansson-wikiped_n_5587008.html

How Big Data Brings Marketing and Finance Together  http://blogs.hbr.org/2014/07/how-big-data-brings-marketing-and-finance-together/

LIRR doc involved in $1 billion disability scam gets 8 years in prison   http://www.nydailynews.com/news/crime/lirr-doc-1-billion-scam-8-years-prison-article-1.1628516

Feds declare big win over Cryptolocker ransomware  http://www.computerworld.com/s/article/9249728/Feds_declare_big_win_over_Cryptolocker_ransomware

Why enterprise IT pros should fear Apple and IBM   http://blogs.computerworld.com/big-data/24150/why-enterprise-it-pros-should-fear-apple-and-ibm

Lifeboat Foundation Worldwide Ambassador White Swan Update and Published Amazon Author by Andres Agostini at www.amazon.com/author/agostini AND www.linkedin.com/in/andresagostini