Friday, June 20, 2014


How to Explain the Number of Financial Crimes on Wall Street   http://www.forbes.com/sites/robertlenzner/2014/06/17/no-one-knows-how-to-explain-the-scourge-of-financial-crime/

Traders say they are not "too big to fail", clearing houses may be    http://uk.reuters.com/article/2014/04/01/traders-clearing-idUKL5N0MT37120140401

Retail banks' worst nightmare? Google  http://www.cnbc.com/id/101127506

Thought-controlled robotic suits: How the first cyborg-type robot could help the physically challenged    http://www.independent.co.uk/news/science/thoughtcontrolled-robotic-suits-how-the-first-cyborgtype-robot-could-help-the-physically-challenged-9550329.html

Harvey, the robot farmer fixing the US labour shortage   http://www.newscientist.com/article/mg22229744.300-harvey-the-robot-farmer-fixing-the-us-labour-shortage.html#.U6Q-57EbErh

Aging: The girls who never grow older   http://www.bbc.com/future/story/20140520-the-girls-who-never-age

How Your Great-Grandchildren Could Talk to You Decades after Your Death   www.huffingtonpost.com/evan-carroll/great-grandchildren-talk-after-death_b_5486735.html?ncid=fcbklnkushpmg00000043&ir=Science

Four Space News Stories That Caught My Eye This Week   http://www.21stcentech.com/space-news-stories-caught-eye-week/

UK’s robot hothouse  https://connect.innovateuk.org/web/ras-sig/article-view/-/blogs/the-view-from-the-uk-s-robot-hothou-1?p_p_auth=JFkRMmc4

Harley Previews ‘Concept’ Electric Motorbike   http://www.gilcommunity.com/discussion/harley-previews-concept-electric-motorbike/?sthash.ueTdjipN.mjjo

WRONG, BORDERS WILL BE CLOSED:  Smarter Cities of the Future Will Be More Open, Social   http://asmarterplanet.com/blog/2014/06/smarter-cities-future-will-open-social.html

The Admiral Sets a Good Course   http://www.huffingtonpost.com/brian-e-finch/the-admiral-sets-a-good-c_b_5513158.html?utm_source=Alert-blogger&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Email%2BNotifications

10 Ways To 'Fix' Cybersecurity   http://www.forbes.com/sites/kashmirhill/2014/06/18/10-ways-to-fix-cybersecurity/

Sunbathing may have similar effects to drug addiction   http://www.newscientist.com/article/dn25771-sunbathing-may-have-similar-effects-to-drug-addiction.html#.U6ShvrEbErg

Manhunt to bug hunt: Cop skills track nature's killers   http://www.newscientist.com/article/mg22229740.700-manhunt-to-bug-hunt-cop-skills-track-natures-killers.html

Neanderthals evolved their teeth before big brains   http://www.newscientist.com/article/dn25761-neanderthals-evolved-their-teeth-before-big-brains.html#.U6SjRbEbErg

Commercial quantum computer still awaits ultimate test   http://www.newscientist.com/article/dn25760-commercial-quantum-computer-still-awaits-ultimate-test.html#.U6Sjf7EbErg

Physics: Bell’s theorem still reverberates     http://www.nature.com/news/physics-bell-s-theorem-still-reverberates-1.15435

What Should Transhumanity regard as it’s Primary Goal?   http://transhumanity.net/articles/entry/what-should-transhumanity-regard-as-its-primary-goal

Herschel discovers water-building molecule around dying stars    http://www.sen.com/news/herschel-discovers-water-building-molecule-around-dying-stars

Draper Labs develops low cost probe to orbit, land on Europa for NASA
 http://www.examiner.com/article/draper-labs-develops-low-cost-probe-to-orbit-land-on-europa-for-nasa

The Big Public Transit Promise For Google’s New Self-Driving Car   http://www.realbusiness.com/2014/06/the-big-public-transit-promise-for-googles-new-self-driving-car/?sf27319195=1

8 Tips For Making Virtual Reality Viable  http://www.fastcocreate.com/3031726/8-tips-for-making-virtual-reality-viable

The Hidden Biases in Big Data   http://blogs.hbr.org/2013/04/the-hidden-biases-in-big-data/

Bioengineer Receives $2.9 Million Grant to Improve Brain Implants   http://www.mdtmag.com/news/2014/06/bioengineer-receives-29-million-grant-improve-brain-implants

A ‘Vaccine’ for Heart Disease Could Mean No Pills, Lettuce or a Gym     http://time.com/2853809/a-vaccine-for-heart-disease-that-doesnt-involve-pills-lettuce-or-a-gym/